Bell Gully lawyers recognised in respected legal directory Chambers Asia Pacific 2024

20 December 2023

Bell Gully has the most lawyer rankings in the New Zealand market in Chambers Asia Pacific 2024. The firm has also been named as the only New Zealand law firm ranked in the Asia Pacific region for climate change advice, the second time Bell Gully’s climate change practice has been recognised as a regional leader.

"This recognition from Chambers Asia Pacific highlights the depth of Bell Gully’s expertise and the strong focus we have on providing strategic and pragmatic advice to our clients,” said Bell Gully chair and partner Andrew Petersen. 

Chambers Asia Pacific has ranked eight of Bell Gully's practice areas as Band 1, and Bell Gully partners and associates have been awarded 44 individual rankings in New Zealand.

Separately, partner Natasha Garvan is highlighted as a notable practitioner in the Asia Pacific region for climate change advice. Chambers Asia Pacific also noted the breadth of Bell Gully’s climate change practice, which stood out in the New Zealand market for its full-service offering.

Among those recognised:

Banking and finance, recognised partners: David McPherson, Murray King, David Craig and Jennifer Gunser.

Competition / antitrust, recognised partners: Torrin Crowther and Glenn Shewan.  

Construction, recognised partners: Ian Becke

Corporate / commercial, recognised partners: James Gibson, Anna Buchly, Haydn Wong, James Cooney, Amon Nunns, Dean Alderton, Glenn Joblin and Toby Sharpe.

Climate change (Chambers Asia Pacific), recognised partner: Natasha Garvan.

Dispute resolution, recognised partners: David Friar, Sophie East, Jesse Wilson and Tim Fitzgerald.

Employment, recognised partners: Liz Coats and Tim Clarke.

Energy and natural resources, recognised partner: David Coull.

Environment and resource management.

Financial services, recognised individuals: Haydn Wong and Katie Dow.  

Insurance, recognised partner: David Friar.

Intellectual property, recognised partner: Tania Goatley.

Public law, recognised partners: Rachael Brown, Angela Harford and Kirsty Dobbs

Real estate, recognised partners: Andrew Petersen, Jane Holland, David Chisnall, Ian Becke and Karl Anderson.

Restructuring and insolvency, recognised partner: David McPherson.

Tax, recognised individuals: Mathew McKay, Willy Sussman, Graham Murray and Campbell Pentney.

Technology, Media, Telecoms (TMT), recognised partners: Dean Oppenhuis, Laura Littlewood and Tania Goatley.

Disclaimer: This publication is necessarily brief and general in nature. You should seek professional advice before taking any action in relation to the matters dealt with in this publication.